1970 Varsity Football Team

Peddie’s 1970 Football Team joined the elite group of undefeated football teams in the school’s century of football. The undefeated and united Peddie School was named the Trentonian 1970 Delaware Valley Scholastic Football Ratings Champion. 

With Coach Ed Paul’s pre-season declaration of “This better be the year for us” ringing in their ears, the Falcons manhandled five of eight opponents and displayed their class in pressure contests with Blair, Lawrenceville, and Kingswood to claim the Number One ranking in the Delaware Valley. Peddie, the first prep school ever to capture the coveted award, a king-sized rotating trophy , was never in first place during a wild, unpredictable season that naw Neshaminy and Woodrow Wilson take turns at leading the 51-team field. However, Ed Paul’s multi talented squad of Brian Mansella, Jim Maskas, Kevin Fisher, Ty Hennings, Bill Means, Mike Wilcox, Steve Plunkett, Brent Wham, Dave Hills, Phil Kellog, Les Knox, Charley Myers, Mitch Wolff and Wade Wulster succeeded in achieving the highest ranking in the area. 

To put the accomplishment in perspective, Neshaminy HS gained runner up honors, Woodrow Wilson HS placed third, Pennsbury HS was fourth and Bishop Egan, nailed down fifth place. Trenton, Lawrenceville, John F. Kennedy, Hun and Hamilton HS rounded out the top 10 teams. 

Peddie (8-0), Hun (8-0) and Northern Burlington (9-0) were the only teams to emerge with undefeated records as the season ended.