1968 Varsity Track Team

The 1968 Varsity Track Team completed one of the most successful outdoor campaigns in Peddie track history which began in 1902. Coach Lawson’s 1968 Bulletmen ended the season with an undefeated record and in addition, captured the State Crown. The team became the first undefeated track team since 1953 and joined the elite ranks of Peddie undefeated teams.

The success of the team merited the election of three captains: Jim Sporn, who paced the distance men along with state mile champion Jerry Hart; Freed Stem, who won the pole vault at the state meet; and John Willy who led the weight men. The team had few weak points and was immensely strengthened by a number of all-purpose men. The sprints and hurdles were dominated by Mike Rakowski, Brian McConnel, and John Glace, who also won the high jump in the state meet.

Perhaps the two sweetest victories besides the state meet were over Hill and Lawrenceville. The team did not realize its true potential until Hill was defeated in a seemingly hopeless attempt. Down by more than 30 points early in the meet, the Bulletmen roared back to win the meet in the final event by a score of 66-60. The usual psych-out mesmerism of Lawrenceville did not affect the trackmen either. The Larries trudged back onto their buses in defeat.

Peddie Sports Hall of Fame Coach Lawson felt the 1968 team was one of those special teams that earned its laurels through determination and hard work, yet had the Peddie spirit that made it both fun and a challenge to work with. The undefeated championship season remains a testament to Bullet’s coaching and the talent the athletes brought to Peddie.